

Distr. LIMITED

E/1996/L.5 1 April 1996

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Resumed organizational session for 1996 2 and 3 May 1996 Agenda item 8

ELECTIONS, NOMINATIONS AND APPOINTMENTS

# Election of 11 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund

#### Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. By resolution 48/162 of 20 December 1993, the General Assembly decided that the governing body of the United Nations Children's Fund should be transformed into an Executive Board, and that the Executive Board should have 36 members, to be elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.
- 2. At its resumed organizational session for 1996, the Council will have to elect 11 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1997, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 1996 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Brazil, Burkina Faso, France, Ghana, Indonesia, Italy, Jamaica, Lebanon, Romania, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and United States of America.
- 3. The 11 members will be elected on the following basis:
  - (a) Two members from African States;
  - (b) Two members from Asian States;
  - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
  - (d) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
  - (e) Four members from Western European and other States.
- 4. The current membership of the Executive Board is given in the annex below.

#### <u>Annex</u>

#### EXECUTIVE BOARD OF THE UNITED NATIONS CHILDREN'S FUND

(36 members; three-year term)

#### Membership in 1996

#### Eight seats for African States

Angola (1977), Burkina Faso\* (1996), Burundi (1997), Ghana\* (1996), Kenya (1997), Morocco (1997), Namibia (1998), Uganda (1997)

## Seven seats for Asian States

China (1998), India (1997), Indonesia\* (1996), Lebanon\* (1996), Pakistan (1997), Republic of Korea (1997), Viet Nam (1998)

## Four seats for Eastern European States

Azerbaijan (1997), Romania\* (1996), Russian Federation (1998), Ukraine (1998)

## Five seats for Latin American and Caribbean States

Brazil\* (1996), Cuba (1998), Jamaica\* (1996), Suriname (1998), Venezuela (1997)

#### Twelve seats for Western European and other States

Canada (1998), Denmark (1998), France\* (1996), Italy\* (1996), Japan (1997), Netherlands (1997), Norway (1997), Sweden (1997), Switzerland (1998), Turkey (1998), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland\* (1996), United States of America\* (1996)

\_\_\_\_

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.