

Distr. LIMITED

E/1996/L.7 1 April 1996

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Resumed organizational session for 1996 2 and 3 May 1996 Agenda item 8

# ELECTIONS, NOMINATIONS AND APPOINTMENTS

### Nomination of 10 members of the World Food Council

# Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The World Food Council has 36 members. In accordance with paragraph 8 of General Assembly resolution 3348 (XXIX), the Council is required to nominate 10 members of the World Food Council for election by the General Assembly at its fifty-first session to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 1996 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Bangladesh, Brazil, China, Liberia, Malawi, Mexico, Pakistan, Sudan, Turkey and United States of America. The term is three years, beginning on 1 January 1997.
- 2. On the basis of the distribution of seats in the World Food Council decided upon by the General Assembly, the vacancies are to be filled as follows:
  - (a) Three seats for African States;
  - (b) Three seats for Asian States;
  - (c) Two seats for Latin American and Caribbean States;
  - (d) Two seats for Western European and other States.
- 3. In addition, the Council is to nominate three members from Western European and other States and two members from Latin American and Caribbean States whose election was postponed by the General Assembly at its fiftieth session; two members from Western European and other States whose election was postponed by the General Assembly at its forty-ninth session, and one member from Eastern European States and one member from Western European and other States whose election was postponed by the General Assembly at its forty-eighth session.
- 4. The membership of the World Food Council in 1996 is given in the annex below.

96-07891 (E) 100496

### <u>Annex</u>

### WORLD FOOD COUNCIL

(36 members; three-year term)

# Membership in 1996

# Nine members from African States

Algeria (1998), Angola (1997), Kenya (1997), Liberia\* (1996), Malawi\* (1996), Mali (1998), Sudan\* (1996), Togo (1998), Uganda (1997)

# Eight members from Asian States

Bangladesh\* (1996), China\* (1996), India (1998), Indonesia (1997), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (1998), Japan (1998), Marshall Islands (1997), Pakistan\* (1996)

Four members from Eastern European States (one seat remains vacant)

Albania (1997), Hungary (1998), Russian Federation (1997)

Seven members from Latin American and Caribbean States (two seats remain vacant)

Brazil\* (1996), Colombia (1997), Dominican Republic (1997), Honduras (1997), Mexico\* (1996)

Eight members from Western European and other States (six seats remain vacant)

Turkey\* (1996), United States of America\* (1996)

----

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.