



General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/50/777 22 November 1995 ENGLISH

ORIGINAL: FRENCH

Fiftieth session Agenda item 17 (d)

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

<u>Confirmation of the appointment of members</u> <u>of the Investments Committee</u>

Report of the Fifth Committee

Rapporteur: Mr. Peter MADDENS (Belgium)

- 1. At its 19th meeting, on 3 November 1995, the Fifth Committee considered a note by the Secretary-General (A/50/104) concerning the vacancies in the membership of the Investments Committee that will occur as a result of the expiration of the term of office of three of its members on 31 December 1995.
- 2. The Fifth Committee also had before it a note by the Secretary-General (A/C.5/50/9), in which, in accordance with the provisions of article 20 of the Regulations of the United Nations Joint Staff Pension Fund, the Secretary-General submitted for confirmation by the General Assembly the reappointment as members of the Investments Committee of Mr. Yves Oltramare (Switzerland), Mr. Emmanuel Noi Omaboe (Ghana) and Mr. Jürgen Reimnitz (Germany) for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1996, as well as the appointment of Mr. Takeshi Ohta (Japan) to fill the remainder of a three-year term expiring on 31 December 1996.
- 3. The Fifth Committee decided, by acclamation, to recommend to the General Assembly that it should confirm the appointment as members of the Investments Committee of Mr. Yves Oltramare (Switzerland), Mr. Emmanuel Noi Omaboe (Ghana) and Mr. Jürgen Reimnitz (Germany) for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1996 as well as the appointment of Mr. Takeshi Ohta (Japan) to fill the remainder of a three-year term expiring on 31 December 1996.

RECOMMENDATION OF THE FIFTH COMMITTEE

- 4. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly should:
- (a) Confirm the appointment by the Secretary-General of the following persons as members of the Investments Committee for a three-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1996:
 - Mr. Yves Oltramare;
 - Mr. Emmanuel Noi Omaboe;
 - Mr. Jürgen Reimnitz;
- (b) Confirm the appointment of Mr. Takeshi Ohta to fill the remainder of a three-year term of office expiring on 31 December 1996.
