Distr.
GENERAL

A/CONF.157/TBB/4/Add.1 21 June 1993

Original: ENGLISH

WORLD CONFERENCE ON HUMAN RIGHTS
Meeting of Chairpersons and
Members of International Human Rights
Treaty Bodies
Vienna, 15-16 June 1993
Agenda item 12 (c) of the Plenary

RECOMMENDATIONS FOR ENHANCING THE EFFECTIVENESS OF UNITED NATIONS ACTIVITIES AND MECHANISMS

<u>Vienna Statement on the International Human Rights</u>
<u>Treaty Bodies</u>

$\underline{\text{Addendum}}$

Meeting of Chairpersons and members of international human rights treaty bodies: attendance list

T. TREATY BODIES

African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights, Committee Against Torture, Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights, Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women, Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination, Committee on the Rights of the Child, European Commission on Human Rights, European Court of Human Rights, European Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment, Human Rights Committee, ILO Supervisory Bodies, Inter-American Court of Human Rights, Inter-American Commission on Human Rights.

II. STATES

Australia, Canada, Costa Rica, Lithuania, Lithuanian Parliament, Foreign Affairs Committee, Spain, United States of America.

III. NON-GOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS

Amnesty International, Association for the Prevention of Torture, Baha'i International Community, Comite de Familiares de las Victimas de los Sucesos de Febrero-Marzo (COFAVIC), Inter-American Institute of Human Rights, International Alert, International Educational Development, International Human Rights Law Group, International League for Human Rights, International Service for Human Rights, IVSY, Jacob Blaustein Institute for Human Rights, Law Association for Asia and the Pacific (LAWASIA), Norwegian Refugee Council, Programa Venezolano de Educación Acción en Derechos Humanos (PROVEA), Servicio Juridico Derechos Humanos (Madrid), Commission of the Churches on International Affairs of the World Council of Churches.

IV. INTERGOVERNMENTAL ORGANIZATIONS

United Nations Office at Geneva (Centre for Human Rights), United Nations Office at Vienna (Division for the Advancement of Women), International Labour Office, Council of Europe (Directorate of Human Rights).

V. ALPHABETICAL LIST OF PARTICIPANTS

Aguiar-Aranguren	Asdrúbal	Judge, Inter-American Court of Human Rights
Alston	Philip	Chairman, Committee on Economic, Social and Cultural Rights and Chairman-Rapporteur of the meeting
Ando	Nisuke	Chairman, Human Rights Committee
Badawi El-Sheikh	Ibrahim Ali	Chairman, African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights
Badran	Hoda	Chairperson, Committee on the Rights of the Child

Bayefsky University of Ottawa, Common Law Anne Section; Delegation of Canada Bobelis Kazimieras Member, Parliament of the Republic of Lithuania, Chairman of the Committee on Foreign Affairs; Delegation of Lithuania Borgen Jan Norwegian Refugee Council Francisco Javier Legal Affairs and Human Rights Borrego Department, Ministry of Justice; Delegation of Spain Bos Wytze Baha'i International Community Commission of the Churches on Burneo José International affairs of the World Council of Churches Burns Peter Thomas Member, Committee against Torture Andrew C. International League for Human Byrnes Rights Cançado-Trindade Antonio A. Judge ad hoc, Inter-American Court of Human Rights Cerna Christina Centre for Human Rights, World Conference on Human Rights Secretariat, United Nations Office at Geneva Chen Lung-Chu International League for Human Rights Corti Ivanka Chairperson, Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination Against Women (CEDAW) Cosby Kit Baha'i International Community

Creydt Division for the Advancement of Ingeborg Women, International Standards and

Procedures Unit, Centre for Social Development and Humanitarian Affairs, United Nations Office at

Vienna

Cuéllar Roberto Inter-American Institute of Human

Rights

Ermacora	Felix	Member, European Commission on Human Rights
Faundez Ledesma	Hector	Central University of Venezuela; Catholic University Andres Bello; PROVEA
Fröhlich	Silvia	Baha'i International Community
Gaer	Felice	Jacob Blaustein Institute for Human Rights; Delegation of the United States of America
Guarneri	Giuseppe	Directorate of Human Rights, Intergovernmental Activities Section, Council of Europe
Gunn	T. Jeremy	International Human Rights Law Group
Hammarberg	Thomas	Member, Committee on the Rights of the Child
Oushmand	Enayat	Centre for Human Rights, Implementation of International Instruments and Procedures Branch, United Nations Office at Geneva
Justice	Shirley	Amnesty International
Kintu	Philomena	Division for the Advancement of Women, Promotion and Analysis Branch, Centre for Social Development and Humanitarian Affairs, United Nations Office at Vienna
Klein	Helga	Centre for Human Rights, Implementation of International Instruments and Procedures Branch, International Instruments Section, United Nations Office at Geneva
Laviec	Jean-Pierre	Labour Law Information Branch, International Labour Office
Levin	Leah	International Alert
Maira	Gloria	Latin American Association for Human Rights
Marín Rios	Juan Antonio	Ministry of Justice, Delegation of

Spain

Michelini	Felipe	IVSY
Nicholson	Margaret	Directorate of Human Rights, Council of Europe
Nicolay	Claude	Member, European Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treament or Punishment
Nikken	Pedro	Former Judge, Inter-American Court of Human Rights
Norgaard	Carl Aage	President, European Commission of Human Rights
Norris	Robert	Inter-American Institute of Human Rights
Orlikowska Wronska	Romana	Amnesty International
Ortega	Liliana	Committee of Members of the Families of Victims (COFAVIC)
Parker	Karen	International Educational Development
Parker	Penny	International Service for Human Rights
Pettiti	Louis	Judge, European Court of Human Rights
Pocar	Fausto	Member, Human Rights Committee
Prémont	Daniel	Centre for Human Rights, Implementation of International Instruments and Procedures Branch, International Instruments Section, United Nations Office at Geneva
Reisman	Michael	First Vice-Chairman, Inter-American Commission on Human Rights
Ryssdal	Rolv	President, European Court of Human Rights
Rodrígo-Alpízar	Javier	Permanent Mission of Costa Rica to the United Nations Office at Geneva; Delegation of Costa Rica
Santos Pais	Marta	Member, Committee on the Rights of the Child

Sidoti	Christopher	Australian Law Reform Commission; Delegation of Australia
Sorensen	Bent	Member, Committee against Torture; European Committee for the Prevention of Torture and Inhuman or Degrading Treatment or Punishment
Strasser	Wolfgang	Secretariat, European Commission of Human Rights
Swepston	Lee	Coordinator, Human Rights Questions, International Labour Office
Tardu	Maxime	Law Association for Asia and the Pacific (LAWASIA)
Taton	Valérie	International Labour Standards Department, International Labour Office
Teitelbaum	Mirta	Centre for Human Rights, External Relations and Information Section, United Nations Office at Geneva
Trechsel	Stefan	Member, European Commission on Human Rights
Valiña	Liliana	Association for the Prevention of Torture
de Vargas	François	Association for the Prevention of

Torture