

# **Economic and Social Council**

Distr. LIMITED

E/1994/L.3

23 December 1993

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Resumed organizational session for 1994

ELECTIONS, NOMINATIONS AND APPOINTMENTS

# <u>Election of 23 members of the Commission on</u> Transnational Corporations

### Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Commission on Transnational Corporations has 48 members. In accordance with resolution 1913 (LVII) of 5 December 1974, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 1994, 16 members from all States to the Commission, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1995, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 1994 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Congo, Costa Rica, Gabon, Guatemala, Indonesia, Jamaica, Mexico, Netherlands, Pakistan, Russian Federation, Sudan, Swaziland, Sweden, Thailand, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and United States of America.
- 2. Taking account of the distribution of seats in the Commission as set out in Council resolution 1913 (LVII), the 16 members will be elected according to the following pattern:

Four members from African States;

Three members from Asian States;

One member from Eastern European States;

Four members from Latin American and Caribbean States;

Four members from Western European and other States.

3. In addition, the Council is to elect seven members whose election had been postponed from previous sessions: three members from African States, two members from Asian States and one member from Western European and other States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1996;

and one member from Asian States for a term beginning on the date of election and expiring on 31 December 1995.

4. The membership of the Commission in 1994 is given in the annex below.

#### <u>Annex</u>

#### COMMISSION ON TRANSNATIONAL CORPORATIONS

(48 members; three-year term)

#### Membership in 1994

# Twelve members from African States a/

Algeria (1995), Benin, (1995), Congo\* (1994), Gabon\* (1994), Sudan\* (1994), Swaziland\* (1994), Tunisia (1995), Zambia (1996), Zimbabwe (1995)

## Eleven members from Asian States b/

Bangladesh (1996), China (1995), Democratic People's Republic of Korea (1996), Indonesia\* (1994), Japan (1995), Malaysia (1995), Pakistan\* (1994), Thailand\* (1994)

#### Five members from Eastern European States

Belarus (1995), Bulgaria (1996), Czech Republic (1996), Romania (1995), Russian Federation\* (1994)

# Ten members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Argentina (1995), Costa Rica\* (1994), Guatemala\* (1994), Jamaica\* (1994), Mexico\* (1994), Panama (1996), Paraguay (1996), Peru (1995), Uruguay (1995), Venezuela (1996)

# Ten members from Western European and other States c/

Belgium (1996), France (1995), Germany (1995), Italy (1996), Netherlands\* (1994), Sweden\* (1994), Switzerland (1995), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland\* (1994), United States of America\* (1994)

#### Notes

- $\underline{a}$ / There are three vacancies in this group (see para. 3 above).
- b/ There are three vacancies in this group (see para. 3 above).
- $\underline{c}$ / There is one vacancy in this group (see para. 3 above).

----

<sup>\*</sup> Retiring member.