



General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/INF/43/5/Add.2 25 July 1989

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Forty-third session

RESOLUTIONS AND DECISIONS ADOPTED BY THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY DURING ITS FORTY-THIRD SESSION

Note by the Secretary-General

Addendum

At its 91st, 92nd, 93rd, 94th and 95th plenary meetings, on 18 to 20 April and 11 July 1989, the General Assembly adopted resolution 43/233 and decisions 43/327, 43/402 C and 43/462. Consequently, document A/INF/43/5 should be amended as follows:

1. Page 29

Add the following:

2. Page 34

Add the following:

3. Page 35

Replace the entry for decision 43/402 with the following:

43/402 Adoption of the agenda and allocation of agenda items

Decision A. (A/43/241; A/43/242; A/43/243; A/43/244; A/43/245; A/43/246;

A/43/247; A/43/248; A/43/250 and Corr.1, paras. 26-34; A/43/250/Add.1, para. 2; A/43/250/Add.2; A/43/PV.3,		
31, 40 and 85)	8	23 September, 13, 26 and 28 October and 22 December 1988
Decision B. (A/43/249 and Add.1 and 2; A/43/997 and Add.1 and 2; A/43/PV.86 and 88)	8	14 and

Decision C. (A/43/1010; A/43/PV.95) 8 11 July 1989

4. Page 36

After the entry for decision 43/459 add the following:

5. Page 56

After the text of decision 43/326 add the following:

43/327. Election of a member of the International Court of Justice

The General Assembly, at its 91st plenary meeting, on 18 April 1989, and the Security Council, at its 2854th meeting, on the same date, proceeded independently of one another to elect, in accordance with Articles 2 to 4, 7 to 12 and 14 and 15 of the Statute of the International Court of Justice, rules 150 and 151 of the rules of procedure of the Assembly and rules 40 and 61 of the provisional rules of procedure of the Council, a member of the Court for a term of office expiring on 5 February 1991 to fill a vacancy resulting from the death of Mr. Nagendra SINGH (India). The following person was elected:

Mr. Raghunandan Swarup PATHAK (India)

As a result, the International Court of Justice is composed as follows:
Mr. José María RUDA (Argentina),* President, Mr. Kèba M'BAYE (Senegal),*
Vice-President, Mr. Manfred LACHS (Poland),** Mr. Taslim Olawale ELIAS
(Nigeria),** Mr. Shigeru ODA (Japan),** Mr. Roberto AGO (Italy),***
Mr. Stephen SCHWEBEL (United States of America),*** Sir Robert Y. JENNINGS
(United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland),* Mr. Mohammed BEDJAOUI
(Algeria),*** Mr. NI Zhengyu (China),** Mr. Jens EVENSEN (Norway),**

21 February 1989

Mr. Nikolai K. TARASOV (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics),***

Mr. Gilbert GUILLAUME (France), * Mr. Mohamed SHAHABUDDEEN (Guyana) ** and

Mr. Raghunandan Swarup PATHAK (India).*

- * Term of office expires on 5 February 1991.
- ** Term of office expires on 5 February 1994.
- *** Term of office expires on 5 February 1997.

6. Page 58

After the text of decision 43/402 add the following:

C

At its 95th plenary meeting, on 11 July 1989, the General Assembly, on the basis of a proposal contained in the note by the Secretary-General, 1/decided to re-open consideration of agenda item 36 entitled "Policies of apartheid of the Government of South Africa".

7. Page 62

After the text of decision 43/459 add the following:

43/462. Special session of the General Assembly on <u>apartheid</u> and its destructive consequences in southern Africa

At its 95th plenary meeting, on 11 July 1989, the General Assembly decided that the special session of the Assembly on <u>apartheid</u> and its destructive consequences in southern Africa would be held from 12 to 14 December 1989, on the understanding that the Assembly at its forty-fourth session would hold its debate on the item entitled "Policies of <u>apartheid</u> of the Government of South Africa" three to four weeks before the special session.



