



General Assembly

Distr.
GENERAL

A/49/259 18 July 1994

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Forty-ninth session
Item 16 (b) of the preliminary list*

ELECTIONS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER ELECTIONS

<u>Election of seven members of the Committee</u> for Programme and Coordination

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) of 14 May 1976 and General Assembly decision 42/450 of 17 December 1987, the members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination are nominated by the Economic and Social Council and elected by the General Assembly for a term of three years.
- 2. The membership of the Committee in 1994 is as follows (see General Assembly decision 48/311):

Argentina,*** Bahamas,* Belarus,*** Brazil,*** Cameroon,*** Canada,*** China,** Comoros,*** Congo,*** Cuba,*** Egypt,** France,* Germany,*** Ghana,* India,*** Indonesia,*** Iran (Islamic Republic of),*** Japan,** Kenya,** Netherlands,*** Nicaragua,** Norway,*** Pakistan,*** Republic of Korea,** Romania,*** Russian Federation,* Senegal,*** Togo,** Trinidad and Tobago,*** Ukraine,*** United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland,*** United States of America,* Uruguay* and Zambia.*

- * Term of office expires in 1994.
- ** Term of office expires in 1995.
- *** Term of office expires in 1996.

94-29221 (E) 250794

^{*} A/49/50/Rev.1.

- 3. The General Assembly, at its forty-ninth session, will, therefore, be called upon to elect seven members, on the nomination of the Economic and Social Council, to fill the vacancies in the Committee that will occur on 31 December 1994 upon the expiration of the terms of office of the following members: Bahamas, France, Ghana, Russian Federation, United States of America, Uruguay and Zambia. In accordance with General Assembly decision 42/450, the vacancies are to be filled as follows:
 - (a) Two members from African States;
 - (b) One member from Eastern European States;
 - (c) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (d) Two members from Western European and other States.
- 4. By its decision 1994/222, the Economic and Social Council nominated the following Member States for election by the General Assembly at its forty-ninth session, for a term of three years, beginning on 1 January 1995:
 - (a) African States (two vacancies): Benin and Ghana;
 - (b) Eastern European States (one vacancy): Russian Federation;
- (c) Latin American and Caribbean States (two vacancies): Bahamas and Mexico;
- (d) $\underline{\text{Western European and other States}}$ (two vacancies): France and United States of America.
