



# **Economic and Social Council**

Distr. GENERAL

E/ICEF/1994/INF/3 1 March 1994

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

UNITED NATIONS CHILDREN'S FUND Executive Board

#### EXECUTIVE BOARD MEMBERSHIP AS AT 4 FEBRUARY 1994

#### Composition and officers

#### I. COMPOSITION

In annex I to its resolution 48/162 on further measures for the restructuring and revitalization of the United Nations in the economic, social and related fields, the General Assembly stipulated, inter alia, that the Executive Board of the United Nations Children's Fund (UNICEF) should be reconstituted to comprise 36 members with the following regional allocation of seats: 8 African States, 7 Asian and Eastern Mediterranean States, 4 Eastern European States, 5 Latin American and Caribbean States and 12 Western European and other States (including Japan). The term of office will begin on the date elected. The Board year will henceforth be from 1 January through 31 December.

Accordingly, at its organizational session held on 4 February 1994, the Economic and Social Council elected the following members to the UNICEF Executive Board:

## Term of office expiring on

# <u>31 December 1994</u>

Angola
Azerbaijan
Central African Republic
Colombia
Congo
Denmark
Ethiopia
India
Japan
Netherlands
Pakistan
Republic of Korea
Sweden
United Republic of Tanzania

# <u>31 December 1995</u>

Australia
Belarus
Canada
China
Costa Rica
Germany
Mozambique
Philippines
Russian Federation
Suriname
Switzerland

# <u>31 December 1996</u>

Brazil
Burkina Faso
France
Ghana
Indonesia
Italy
Jamaica
Lebanon
Romania
United Kingdom of Great
Britain and Northern
Ireland
United States of
America

## UNICEF Executive Board by regional groupings

#### Africa (8)

Asia and Eastern Mediterranean (7)

Angola
Burkina Faso
Central African Republic
Congo
Ethiopia
Ghana
Mozambique
United Republic of Tanzania

China
India
Indonesia
Lebanon
Pakistan
Philippines
Republic of Korea

#### Eastern Europe (4)

## Latin America and the Caribbean (5)

Azerbaijan Belarus Romania Russian Federation Brazil Colombia Costa Rica Jamaica Suriname

## Western Europe and other (12)

Australia
Canada
Denmark
France
Germany
Italy
Japan
Netherlands
Sweden
Switzerland
United Kingdom of Great Britain and
Northern Ireland
United States of America

# II. OFFICERS

The Bureau of the Executive Board consists of a chairman and four vice-chairmen representing the five regional groups. At its first regular session, held from 23 to 25 February 1994, the Executive Board elected the following officers:

Chairman: H.E. Miss Anna Semamba Makinda (United Republic of Tanzania)

Vice-Chairmen: H.E. Mr. Khalil Makkawi (Lebanon)

Mr. Alexei A. Mojoukhov (Belarus)
Mr. Ronaldo Costa Filho (Brazil)
Mr. Peter Post (Netherlands)

----