Distr. LIMITED

E/CN.4/1994/L.10/Add.2 8 March 1994

ENGLISH

Original: FRENCH

COMMISSION ON HUMAN RIGHTS Fiftieth session Agenda item 26

## DRAFT REPORT OF THE COMMISSION

Rapporteur: Mr. François-Xavier NGOUBEYOU

CONTENTS\*

| <u>Chapter</u> |  | <u>Paragraphs</u> | <u>Page</u> |
|----------------|--|-------------------|-------------|
| XXIV.          | Election of members of the Sub-Commission on Prevention of Discrimination and Protection |                   |             |
|                | of Minorities  | 1 - 6             |             |

<sup>\*</sup> Documents E/CN.4/1994/L.10 and addenda will contain the chapters of the report relating to the organization of the session and the various items on the agenda. Resolutions and decisions adopted by the Commission, as well as draft resolutions and decisions for action by, and other matters of concern to, the Economic and Social Council, will be contained in documents E/CN.4/1994/L.11 and addenda.

## XXIV. ELECTION OF MEMBERS OF THE SUB-COMMISSION ON PREVENTION OF DISCRIMINATION AND PROTECTION OF MINORITIES

- 1. The Commission considered agenda item 24 at its 59th meeting, held on 7 March 1994.  $\underline{2}/$
- 2. The Commission had before it a note by the Secretary-General containing nominations of candidates for election to membership of the Sub-Commission on Prevention of Discrimination and Protection of Minorities and biographical data on the candidates (E/CN.4/1994/85 and Add.1-4).
- 3. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolutions 1334 (XLIV) of 31 May 1968 and 1986/35 of 23 May 1986 and decisions 1978/21 of 5 May 1978 and 1987/102 of 6 February 1987, the Commission, at its forty-fourth session (39th meeting, held on 29 February 1988), elected by secret ballot 26 members of the Sub-Commission from nominations of experts made by States Members of the United Nations on the following basis: (a) seven members from African States; (b) five members from Asian States; (c) three members from Eastern European States; (d) five members from Latin American States; (e) six members from Western European and other States.
- 4. Pursuant to Economic and Social Council resolution 1986/35, members of the Sub-Commission are elected for a term of four years, and half of the membership and the corresponding alternates, if any, are elected every two years.
- 5. As the term of office of half of the membership of the Sub-Commission had expired, the Commission was called upon to hold a new election of Sub-Commission members and alternates on the following basis: three members from African States; three members from Asian States; one member from Eastern European States; three members from Latin American States; and three members from Western European and other States.
- 6. The Commission elected by secret ballot 13 members of the Sub-Commission, and their corresponding alternates, if any, for a period of four years. The following candidates were elected:

## African States

Mrs. Lucy Gwanmesia Cameroon

Mr. Pierre Sob <u>a</u>/

Ms. Judith Sefi Attah Nigeria

Mrs. Christy Ezim Mbonu  $\underline{a}/$ 

Mr. El-Hadji Guissé Senegal

Mr. Ndary Toure  $\underline{a}/$ 

<u>Asian States</u>

Mr. Fan Guoxiang China

Mr. Zhong Shukong  $\underline{a}$ /

Mr. Mohammed Sardar Ali Khan India

Mr. Osman El-Hajje Lebanon

Eastern European States

Mr. Stanislav Chernichenko Russian Federation

Mr. Teimuraz Ramishvili  $\underline{a}/$ 

Latin American States

Mr. José Augusto Lindgren Alves Brazil

Mrs. Marília Sardenberg Zelner Gonçalves <u>a</u>/

Mr. José Bengoa Chile

Mr. Mario Ibarra <u>a</u>/

Mr. Miguel Limón Rojas Mexico

Mr. Héctor Fix Zamudio  $\underline{a}/$ 

Western European and other States

Mr. Louis Joinet France

Mr. Emmanuel Decaux  $\underline{a}$ /

Mrs. Erica-Irene Daes Greece

Mrs. Kalliopi Koufa <u>a</u>/

Ms. Claire Palley United Kingdom of Great Britain

Mr. John Merrills  $\underline{a}$  and Northern Ireland

 $\underline{a}$ / Alternate.

----