Distr. LIMITED

TD/TIMBER.2/L.6 21 January 1994

Original: ENGLISH

UNITED NATIONS CONFERENCE FOR THE NEGOTIATION OF A SUCCESSOR AGREEMENT TO THE INTERNATIONAL TROPICAL TIMBER AGREEMENT, 1983 Fourth part Geneva, 10 January 1994 Agenda item 8

PREPARATION OF A SUCCESSOR AGREEMENT TO THE INTERNATIONAL TROPICAL TIMBER AGREEMENT, 1983

Formal Statement by Consumer Members

The States listed below, as well as the European Community, participating in the United Nations Conference for the Negotiation of a Successor Agreement to the International Tropical Timber Agreement, 1983:

- 1. Recognize the importance of the conservation and sustainable management of all types of forests,
- 2. Note the high standard of sustainability which has already been achieved by individual countries in the management of their respective forests,
- Also note the national commitments individual governments have made to the sustainable management of their forests by the year 2000,
- 4. Further note the international initiatives already taken toward sustainable management of forests, as well as those that could be undertaken in the future, and
- 5. Are conscious of the desirability of having all timber producing countries meet comparably high standards of sustainable forest management.

GE.94-50292

6. Affirm therefore that:

- All States listed below commit to implement appropriate guidelines and criteria for sustainable management of their forests comparable to those developed by the International Tropical Timber Organization;
- Those States which have already achieved a high standard of sustainable management of their forests commit to maintain and enhance the sustainable management of their forests;
- Other States commit to the national objective of achieving sustainable management of their forests by the year 2000; and
- Appropriate resources should be provided to developing consumer countries to enable them to achieve the objective of sustainable forest management.
- 7. Request the Secretary General of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development to publish and circulate this Statement together with the official documents of the Conference.

Australia, Austria, Canada, China, European Community, Belgium/Luxembourg, Denmark, France, Germany, Greece, Ireland, Italy, Netherlands, Portugal, Spain, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Finland, Japan, New Zealand, Norway, Republic of Korea, Russian Federation, Sweden, Switzerland, United States of America.