General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/50/102* 24 May 1995

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Fiftieth session Item 17 (b) of the preliminary list**

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

Appointment of members of the Committee on Contributions

Note by the Secretary-General

1. Rules 158 and 159 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide as follows:

"<u>Rule 158</u>

"The General Assembly shall appoint an expert Committee on Contributions consisting of eighteen members.

"<u>Rule 159</u>

"The members of the Committee on Contributions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three calendar years. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Committee on Contributions at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session."

* Reissued for technical reasons.

** A/50/50.

95-15521 (E) 250595

A/50/102 English Page 2

2. The present membership of the Committee is the following:

```
Mr. Tarak Ben Hamida (Tunisia)*
Mr. Uldis Blukis (Latvia)***
Mr. Sergio Chaparro Ruiz (Chile)*
Mr. Yuri A. Chulkov (Russian Federation)**
Mr. David Etuket (Uganda)***
Mr. Neil Hewitt Francis (Australia)*
Mr. Igor V. Goumenny (Ukraine)***
Mr. William Grant (United States)***
Mr. Alvaro Gurgel de Alencar (Brazil)**
Mr. Masao Kawai (Japan)***
Mr. Li Yong (China)**
Mr. Vanu Gopala Menon (Singapore)***
Mr. Enrique Moret Echeverría (Cuba)*
Mr. Mohamed Mahmoud Ould El Ghaouth (Mauritania)*
Mr. Dimitri Rallis (Greece)*
Mr. Ugo Sessi (Italy)**
Mr. Agha Shahi (Pakistan)**
Mr. Adrien Teirlinck (Belgium)**
```

* Term of office expires on 31 December 1995.

** Term of office expires on 31 December 1996.

*** Term of office expires on 31 December 1997.

3. Since the terms of office of Mr. Ben Hamida, Mr. Chaparro Ruiz, Mr. Francis, Mr. Moret Echeverría, Mr. Ould El Ghaouth and Mr. Rallis will expire on 31 December 1995, it will be necessary for the General Assembly at its fiftieth session to appoint six persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 1996.

4. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the fiftieth session.
