



General Assembly

Distr.
GENERAL

A/50/101 9 March 1995

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Fiftieth session
Item 17 (a) of the preliminary list*

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

Appointment of members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions

Note by the Secretary-General

1. Rules 155 and 156 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide as follows:

"Rule 155

"The General Assembly shall appoint an Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions consisting of sixteen members, including at least three financial experts of recognized standing.

"<u>Rule 156</u>

"The members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three calendar years. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The three financial experts shall not retire simultaneously. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Advisory Committee at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session."

95-06831 (E) 140395

^{*} A/50/50.

2. The present membership of the Committee is the following:

```
Mr. Ahmad Fathi Al-Masri (Syrian Arab Republic)***
```

Mr. Ioan Barac (Romania)***

Mr. Leonid E. Bidny (Russian Federation) **

Mr. Gérard Biraud (France)*

Mr. Simon Khoam Chuinkam (Cameroon) **

Mr. Jorge José Duhalt (Mexico)*

Mrs. Norma Goicochea Estenoz (Cuba)**

Mrs. Inga Eriksson Fogh (Sweden) **

Mr. Yuji Kumamaru (Japan)*

Mr. Mahamane Maiga (Mali) ***

Mr. E. Besley Maycock (Barbados)***

Mr. C. S. M. Mselle (United Republic of Tanzania) ***

Mr. Wolfgang Münch (Germany)*

Mr. Ranjit Rae (India)*

Ms. Linda S. Shenwick (United States of America)**

Mr. Yu Mengjia (China)*

* Term of office expires on 31 December 1995.

** Term of office expires on 31 December 1996.

*** Term of office expires on 31 December 1997.

3. Since the terms of office of Mr. Biraud, Mr. Duhalt, Mr. Kumamaru, Mr. Münch, Mr. Rae and Mr. Yu will expire on 31 December 1995, it will be necessary for the General Assembly, at its fiftieth session, to appoint six persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 1996.

4. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the fiftieth session.
