Distr. GENERAL

TD/B/GSP/Austria/30 23 April 1993

Original: ENGLISH

TRADE AND DEVELOPMENT BOARD

### GENERALIZED SYSTEM OF PREFERENCES

# Scheme of Austria

### Amendment

The Secretary-General of UNCTAD has received the following communication from the Permanent Mission of Austria regarding the validity of, and changes and improvements made to, that country's scheme of generalized preferences:

"... has the honour to inform the Secretary General of UNCTAD of the following changes in the GSP system of Austria.

The validity of the GSP scheme of Austria has been extended for another two years (until 31 December 1994).

The following other changes in the scheme are herewith notified:

- With effect from 1 July 1992, the Republic of Estonia, the Republic of Latvia and the Republic of Lithuania have been included in the list of preference-receiving countries (Group I).
- With effect from 1 January 1993, the Czech Republic and the Slovak Republic have been separately included in the list of preference-receiving countries (Group I). As a consequence of the already applied free trade agreement between these two countries and the EFTA States they will be eliminated from the list of beneficiaries with effect from 1 June 1993.
- With effect from 1 March 1993, the product coverage of HS number 0904 in the list of agricultural products which are eligible for preferential treatment has been extended by including sweet pepper in immediate packings of a content exceeding 1 kg (HS subheading No. 0104 20 A 1 b 2).

GE.93-51702 (E)

TD/B/GSP/Austria/30 page 2

- With effect from 1 April 1993, the Republic of Armenia, the Azerbaijani Republic, the Republic of Belarus, the Republic of Georgia, the Republic of Kazakhstan, the Republic of Kyrgyzstan, the Republic of Moldova, the Russian Federation, the Republic of Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, the Ukraine and the Republic of Uzbekistan are included in the list of preference-receiving countries (Group I).
- With effect from 1 April 1993, Turkey is eliminated from the list of beneficiaries as a consequence of the already applied free trade agreement between the EFTA States and Turkey.
- With effect from 1 July 1993, Israel will be eliminated from the list of beneficiaries as a consequence of the already applied free trade agreement between the EFTA-States and Israel.

The new list of preference-receiving countries under the Austrian scheme as applied from 1 April 1994 is attached for information. It should be noted that the former SFR Yugoslavia, which had ceased to exist, is no more included in this list.  $\underline{1}/"$ 

 $\underline{1}$  / See Annex

## ANNEX

# Beneficiary countries

# (States, territories or parts of territories)

GROUP I

Albania Algeria Angola Anguilla Antigua and Barbuda Argentina Armenia Azerbaijan Bahamas Bahrain Barbados Belarus Belize Bolivia Bosnia and Herzegovina Brazil Brunei Darussalam Bulgaria Cameroon Chile China Colombia Congo Costa Rica Côte d'Ivoire Croatia Cuba Cyprus Czech Republic 1/Dominica Dominican Republic Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Estonia Fiji Gabon Georgia Ghana Grenada Guatemala Guyana Honduras Hungary India

Indonesia Iran, Islamic Republic of Iraq Israel <u>2</u>/ Jamaica Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Korea, Democratic People's Republic of Korea, Republic of Kuwait Kyrgyzstan Latvia Lebanon Libyan Arab Jamahiriya Lithuania Macedonia Malaysia Malta Marshall Islands Mauritius Mexico Micronesia Moldova Mongolia Morocco Namibia Nauru Nicaragua Nigeria Oman Pakistan Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Poland Oatar Romania Russian Federation Saint Kitts and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Saudi Arabia

TD/B/GSP/Austria/30 page 4

Senegal Seychelles Singapore Slovak Republic 1/ Slovenia Sri Lanka Suriname Swaziland Syrian Arab Republic Taiwan, Province of China Tajikistan Thailand Tonga Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkmenistan Ukraine United Arab Emirates Uruquay Uzbekistan Venezuala Viet Nam Zimbabwe

Occupied Palestinian Territories

Dependent territories of the Republic of France: French Polynesia Mayotte New Caledonia Saint Pierre and Miquelon Wallis and Futuna

Dependent territories of <u>New Zealand</u>: Cook Islands Niue Tokelau Islands Dependent territories of the Kingdom of the Netherlands: Aruba Netherlands Antilles

<u>Dependent territories of Portugal</u>: Macao

Dependent territories of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland: Bermuda British Indian Ocean Territory Cayman Islands Falkland Islands (Malvinas) and Dependencies Gibraltar Hong Kong\* Montserrat Pitcairn Saint Helena and Dependencies Turks and Caicos Islands Virgin Islands (British)

Dependent territories of the United States of America: American Samoa Guam Midway, Swains and Wake Islands, Johnston and Sand Islands Palau Virgin Islands (United States)

- $\underline{1}$ / Deletion with effect from 1 June 1993.
- $\underline{2}$ / Deletion with effect from 1 July 1993.

<sup>\*</sup> In the cases of imports of goods falling into Chapters 50 to 64 of the Customs tariff, originating in Hong Kong, the preferential tariff rates shall not apply.

# GROUP II

(Least developed countries)

Afghanistan Bangladesh Benin Bhutan Botswana Burkina Faso Burundi Cambodia Cape Verde Central African Republic Chad Comoros Djibouti Equatorial Guinea Ethiopia Gambia Guinea Guinea-Bissau Haiti Kiribati Lao People's Democratic Republic Lesotho Liberia Madagascar

Malawi Maldives Mali Mauritania Mozambique Myanmar Nepal Niger Rwanda Samoa Sao Tome and Principe Sierra Leone Solomon Islands Somalia Sudan Togo Tuvalu Uganda United Republic of Tanzania Vanuatu Yemen Zaire Zambia

\_\_\_\_