

Distr.: General 18 June 2018 Original: English

Meeting of States parties to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women
Twentieth meeting

New York, 7 June 2018

## Report of the twentieth meeting of States parties to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women

- 1. The twentieth meeting of States parties to the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women was held on 7 June 2018.
- 2. A representative of the Secretary-General opened the meeting, delivered an opening statement on behalf of the Secretary-General and presided over the election of the Chair. Secretariat services were provided by the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights and the Office of Legal Affairs. The Permanent Representative of Samoa, Ali'ioaiga Feturi Elisaia, was elected Chair of the meeting by acclamation. Inigo Lambertini (Italy) and Christine Bailey (Jamaica) were elected Vice-Chairs, all by acclamation. The provisional agenda (CEDAW/SP/2018/1) was adopted.
- 3. In accordance with article 17, paragraphs 4 and 5, of the Convention, the States parties elected 12 members of the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women by secret ballot in the first round of voting. Five current members received new terms: Gladys Acosta Vargas (Peru); Louiza Chalal (Algeria); Naéla Gabr (Egypt); Lia Nadaraia (Georgia); and Aruna Devi Narain (Mauritius). Seven candidates were elected to the Committee for the first time: Hiroko Akizuki (Japan); Tamader Al-Rammah (Saudi Arabia); Ana Peláez Narváez (Spain); Rhoda Reddock (Trinidad and Tobago); Elgun Safarov (Azerbaijan); Genoveva Tisheva (Bulgaria); and Franceline Toé-Bouda (Burkina Faso). The list of candidates and their curricula vitae are contained in documents CEDAW/SP/2018/2, CEDAW/SP/2018/2/Add.1 and CEDAW/SP/2018/2/Add.2.
- 4. The delegation of Malta withdrew the nomination of Angela Abela as a candidate for election to the Committee prior to the elections.
- 5. The representative of the Russian Federation delivered a statement under agenda item 6, "Other matters".





