

General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/47/616 10 November 1992

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Forty-seventh session Agenda item 33

POLICIES OF APARTHEID OF THE GOVERNMENT OF SOUTH AFRICA

Report of the Special Political Committee

Rapporteur: Mr. Yuriy SHEVCHENKO (Ukraine)

1. In a letter dated 18 September 1992 (A/SPC/47/1), the President of the General Assembly informed the Chairman of the Special Political Committee that the Assembly, at its 3rd plenary meeting, on 18 September, on the recommendation of the General Committee, had decided that the item entitled "Policies of apartheid of the Government of South Africa" would be considered directly in plenary meeting and that organizations and individuals having a special interest in the item would be permitted to be heard by the Special Political Committee.

2. In accordance with the above-mentioned decision of the General Assembly, the Special Political Committee decided, at its 2nd meeting, on 9 October 1992, that the Committee would devote two meetings to such hearings on 6 November, that organizations and individuals wishing to be heard by the Committee should submit their requests to the Chairman in writing, not later than 22 October, and that communications containing requests for hearings would be circulated as Committee documents and would be considered by the Committee at a subsequent meeting prior to the hearings.

3. At its 8th meeting, on 30 October, the Committee considered and approved nine requests for hearings, contained in documents A/SPC/47/L.4 and Add.1-8, and decided to hold one meeting on 6 November in view of the number of requests received.

4. At its 13th meeting, on 6 November, pursuant to its decision taken at its 8th meeting, the Committee heard statements by the following seven persons:

A/47/616 English Page 2

Mr. S	S. E. M. Pheko:	Pan Africanist Congress of Azania;
Mr. I	Dennis W. Frado:	Lutheran Office for World Community;
Ms. I	Donna Katzin:	Interfaith Center on Corporate Responsibility;
Ms. V	Vinie Burrows:	Sub-Committee on Southern Africa of the Non-Governmental Organizations Committee on Human Rights;
Ms. 1	Beatrice von Roemer:	International Confederation of Free Trade Unions;
Mr. I	Dennis Brutus:	South African Non-Racial Olympic Committee (SAN-ROC);
Mr. 1	Tebogo Mafole:	African National Congress of South Africa.

5. The statements made are contained in the verbatim records of the 13th meeting of the Committee (A/SPC/47/PV.13).

6. At its 13th meeting, the Committee decided to submit a report to the General Assembly.
