



Distr.: Limited 26 March 1999

Original: English

Resumed organizational session for 1999 6 and 7 May 1999 Agenda item 8 Elections, nominations and confirmations

Election of 19 members of the Commission on Human Settlements

Note by the Secretary-General

Addendum

- 1. Pursuant to General Assembly resolutions 32/162 of 19 December 1977, 40/202 of 17 December 1985 and 45/264 of 13 May 1991, the Economic and Social Council is to elect, at its resumed organizational session for 1999, 19 members of the Commission on Human Settlements, for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 2000, to fill the vacancies created by the expiration on 31 December 1999 of the terms of the following members: Algeria, Barbados, Benin, Bulgaria, Colombia, Czech Republic, Denmark, Germany, India, Jordan, Kenya, Mexico, Norway, Philippines, Spain, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Tunisia and United Arab Emirates.
- 2. In accordance with paragraph 1 of section II of General Assembly resolution 32/162, the 19 members are to be elected on the following basis:

Five seats for African States;

Five seats for Asian States;

Two seats for Eastern European States;

Three seats for Latin American and Caribbean States;

Four seats for Western European and other States.

3. The membership of the Commission in 1999 is given in the annex below.

Annex

Commission on Human Settlements

(58 members; four-year term)

Membership in 1999

Sixteen seats for African States

Algeria* (1999), Benin* (1999), Cameroon (2002), Democratic Republic of the Congo (2002), Ethiopia (2000), Gabon (2002), Gambia (2002), Kenya* (1999), Liberia (2000), Malawi (2000), Mali (2002), Namibia (2000), Senegal (2002), Sudan* (1999), Tunisia* (1999), Zambia (2000)

Thirteen seats for Asian States

Bangladesh (2000), China (2000), India* (1999), Indonesia (2000), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2002), Japan (2002), Jordan* (1999), Pakistan (2002), Philippines* (1999), Republic of Korea (2000), Sri Lanka* (1999), United Arab Emirates* (1999), Viet Nam (2002)

Six seats for Eastern European States

Belarus (2000), Bulgaria* (1999), Czech Republic* (1999), Lithuania (2002), Poland (2000), Russian Federation (2002)

Ten seats for Latin American and Caribbean States

Argentina (2002), Barbados* (1999), Bolivia (2002), Brazil (2002), Chile (2002), Colombia* (1999), Ecuador (2000), Jamaica (2000), Mexico* (1999), Venezuela (2000)

Thirteen seats for Western European and other States

Belgium (2000), Denmark* (1999), Finland (2002), France (2000), Germany* (1999), Italy (2000), Netherlands (2000), Norway* (1999), Spain* (1999), Sweden (2000), Turkey (2002), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2002), United States of America (2002)

2

^{*} Retiring member.