United Nations E/2018/9/Add.11



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 5 February 2018

Original: English

2018 session

27 July 2017–26 July 2018

Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of six members of the Executive Board of the World Food Programme

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Executive Board of the World Food Programme is composed of 36 members, elected from among the States Members of the United Nations and the States members of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO). In accordance with General Assembly resolution 65/266 and FAO Conference resolution 7/2011, the Economic and Social Council and the Council of FAO elect 18 members of the Executive Board each, according to the pattern set out in Assembly resolution 65/266.
- 2. The Economic and Social Council is to elect, at the coordination and management meetings to be held from 16 to 18 April 2018, six members of the Executive Board, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2019, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2018 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Bangladesh, France, India, Liberia, New Zealand and Russian Federation.
- 3. The members are to be elected according to the following pattern:¹
 - (a) One member from the States included in List A;
 - (b) Two members from the States included in List B;
 - (c) Two members from the States included in List D;
 - (d) One member from the States included in List E.
- 4. The 18 members of the Executive Board elected by the Economic and Social Council are listed in annex I to the present note. For the information of the Economic and Social Council, annex II lists the members of the Executive Board elected by the FAO Council. Annex III lists the States Members of the United Nations and the States members of FAO for election to the Executive Board.

¹ The members are elected from lists set out in the Basic Texts of the World Food Programme. The lists are reproduced in annex III to the present note.





Annex I

Eighteen members elected by the Economic and Social Council to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme

(Three-year term)

Membership in 2018

Four seats for States on List A

Egypt (2019), Lesotho (2020), Liberia* (2018), Sudan (2019)

Four seats for States on List B

Bangladesh* (2018), China (2020), India* (2018), Saudi Arabia (2019)

Two seats for States on List C

Colombia¹ (2019), Guatemala (2020)

Six seats for States on List D

France* (2018), Greece² (2019), Japan (2020), New Zealand*,³ (2018), Norway⁴ (2019), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2020)

Two seats for States on List E

Hungary (2020), Russian Federation* (2018)

2/6 18-01607

^{*} Retiring member.

¹ Replaced Mexico as from 1 January 2018.

² Replaced Spain as from 1 January 2018.

³ Replaced the Netherlands as from 1 January 2018.

⁴ Replaced Finland as from 1 January 2018.

Annex II

Eighteen members elected by the Council of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme

(Three-year term)

Membership in 2018¹

Five seats for States on List A

Algeria (2020), Benin (2018), Congo (2019), Equatorial Guinea² (2020), Zimbabwe (2019)

Three seats for States on List B

Afghanistan (2018), Kuwait (2018), Pakistan (2019)

Three seats for States on List C

Argentina (2019), Brazil (2020), Peru (2018)

Six seats for States on List D

Belgium (2020), Canada (2019), Germany (2019), Ireland (2020), Switzerland (2018), United States of America (2018)

One seat for States on List E

Poland (2020)

¹ Further information on the members elected by the Council of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations is available from http://executiveboard.wfp.org/members-of-the-board.

18-01607 3/**6**

² Equatorial Guinea is occupying the rotating seat. The rotating seat is to be occupied in accordance with the following arrangement: a State from List A to be elected to occupy the additional seat every other term, starting from 1 January 2012; a State from List B to be elected to occupy the additional seat every fourth term, starting from 1 January 2015; a State from List A to be elected to occupy the additional seat every other term, starting from 1 January 2018; a State from List C to be elected to occupy the additional seat every fourth term, starting from 1 January 2021.

Annex III

Lists of States Members of the United Nations and members of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations for election to the Executive Board of the World Food Programme¹

1. Developing countries and territories

List A

Algeria Eritrea Namibia
Angola Ethiopia Niger
Benin Gabon Nigeria
Botswana Gambia Rwanda

Burkina Faso Ghana Sao Tome and Principe

Burundi Guinea Senegal Cabo Verde Guinea-Bissau Seychelles Sierra Leone Kenya Cameroon Central African Republic Lesotho Somalia Liberia South Africa Chad Comoros Libya Sudan Madagascar Swaziland Congo Côte d'Ivoire Malawi Togo Democratic Republic of Mali Tunisia the Congo Mauritania Uganda

Djibouti Mauritius United Republic of Tanzania

Egypt Morocco Zambia Equatorial Guinea Mozambique Zimbabwe

List B

Group I

Afghanistan Kuwait Syrian Arab Republic

Bahrain Kyrgyzstan Tajikistan
Iran (Islamic Republic of) Lebanon Turkmenistan
Iraq Oman United Arab Emirates

Jordan Qatar Uzbekistan Kazakhstan Saudi Arabia Yemen

4/6 18-01607

¹ From appendix A to the General Regulations of the World Food Programme. In the event of a change in the membership of the United Nations or the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), the appropriate change will be made by the secretariats of the United Nations and FAO, respectively, after the necessary consultations with Member States.

Group II

Bangladesh Malaysia Republic of Korea

Bhutan Maldives Samoa
Brunei Darussalam Marshall Islands Singapore
Cambodia Micronesia (Federated States Solomon Islands
China of) Sri Lanka
Cook Islands Mongolia Thailand

Cook IslandsMongoliaThailandDemocratic People'sMyanmarTimor-LesteRepublic of KoreaNauruTongaFijiNepalTuvaluIndiaNiueVanuatuIndonesiaPakistanViet Nam

Kiribati Palau

Lao People's Papua New Guinea

Democratic Republic Philippines

List C

Antigua and Barbuda Dominica Panama
Argentina Dominican Republic Paraguay
Bahamas Ecuador Peru

Barbados El Salvador Saint Kitts and Nevis

Belize Grenada Saint Lucia

Bolivia (Plurinational Guatemala Saint Vincent and the Grenadines

State of) Guyana Suriname

Brazil Haiti Trinidad and Tobago

Chile Honduras Uruguay

Colombia Jamaica Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic

Costa Rica Mexico of)

Cuba Nicaragua

2. Economically developed countries

List D

Andorra Iceland Norway Ireland Australia Portugal Austria Israel San Marino Belgium Italy Spain Canada Japan Sweden Liechtenstein Cyprus Switzerland Denmark Luxembourg Turkey

Finland Malta United Kingdom of Great Britain

France Monaco and Northern Ireland
Germany Netherlands United States of America

Greece New Zealand

18-01607

List E

Albania Estonia
Armenia Georgia
Azerbaijan Hungary
Belarus Latvia
Bosnia and Lithuania
Herzegovina Montenegro
Bulgaria Poland

Croatia Republic of Moldova

Czechia Romania

Russian Federation

Serbia Slovakia Slovenia

The former Yugoslav Republic of

Macedonia

Ukraine

6/6 18-01607