

Distr.: General 5 February 2018

Original: English

2018 session 27 July 2017–26 July 2018 Agenda item 4 Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 14 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/United Nations Office for Project Services

Note by the Secretary-General

1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/United Nations Office for Project Services is composed of 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.

2. Under the terms of General Assembly resolution 48/162, the Economic and Social Council is to elect 14 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2019, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2018 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Belarus, Benin, Cameroon, Canada, Chad, Denmark, France, Haiti, Japan, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Malawi, Republic of Korea, Samoa and Uganda.

3. The election will be held at the coordination and management meetings of the Council, to be held from 16 to 18 April 2018.

- 4. The members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Five members from African States;
 - (b) Three members from Asia-Pacific States;
 - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
 - (d) One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Four members from Western European and other States.

5. The membership of the Executive Board in 2018 is listed in the annex to the present note.





Please recycle 🖗

Annex

Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/ United Nations Office for Project Services

(36 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2018

Eight members from African States

Benin* (2018), Burkina Faso (2020), Cameroon* (2018), Chad* (2018), Egypt (2020), Malawi* (2018), Mauritius (2019), Uganda* (2018)

Seven members from Asia-Pacific States

Cambodia (2020), China (2019), Iran (Islamic Republic of) (2019), Lao People's Democratic Republic* (2018), Republic of Korea* (2018), Samoa* (2018), Saudi Arabia (2020)

Four members from Eastern European States

Albania (2019), Belarus* (2018), Republic of Moldova (2019), Russian Federation (2020)

Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda (2020), Brazil (2020), Cuba (2019), Haiti* (2018), Panama (2019)

Twelve members from Western European and other States

Canada^{*, 1} (2018), Denmark^{*} (2018), Finland (2020), France^{*} (2018), Ireland ² (2019), Japan^{*} (2018), Luxembourg ³ (2019), Norway (2019), Portugal (2020), Switzerland (2020), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2020), United States of America (2019)

^{*} Retiring member.

¹ Replaced Australia as from 1 January 2018.

² Replaced Germany as from 1 January 2018.

³ Replaced the Netherlands as from 1 January 2018.