## UNITED NATIONS



## General Assembly

· 张肖 員可推行 A Parts

MAR 2 3 1992

Distr. GENERAL

1 the states of the south

A/47/101 18 March 1992

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Forty-seventh session Item 17 (a) of the preliminary list\*

> APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

Appointment of members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions

Note by the Secretary-General

1. Rules 155 and 156 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide as follows:

"<u>Rule 155</u>

"The General Assembly shall appoint an Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions consisting of sixteen members, including at least three financial experts of recognized standing.

## "<u>Rule 156</u>

"The members of the Advisory Committee on Administrative and Budgetary Questions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three calendar years. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The three financial experts shall not retire simultaneously. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Advisory Committee at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members or, in case of vacancies, at the next session."

\* A/47/50.

92-12700 3731a (E) 190392 190392

1...

A/47/101 English Page 2

2. The present membership of the Committee is the following:

Mr. Ahmad Fathi Al-Masri (Syrian Arab Republic)\*\*\*

Mr. Leonid E. Bidny (Russian Federation)\*\*

Mr. Carlos Casap (Bolivia)\*

Mr. Kwaku Dua Dankwa (Ghana) \*\*\*

Mr. Even Fontaine-Ortiz (Cuba)\*\*

Mr. Yogesh Kumar Gupta (India)\*

Mr. Tadanori Inomata (Japan)\*

Mr. Richard Kinchen (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)\*\*

Mr. M'hand Ladjouzi (Algeria)\*\*

Mr. Zoran Lazarevic (Yugoslavia)\*\*\*

Mr. E. Besley Maycock (Barbados)\*\*\*

Mr. C. S. M. Mselle (United Republic of Tanzania)\*\*\*

Mr. Wolfgang Muench (Germany)\*

Ms. Irmeli Mustonen (Finland)\*

Ms. Linda S. Shenwich (United States of America)\*\*

Mr. Yang Hushan (China)\*

\* Term of office expires on 31 December 1992.

\*\* Term of office expires on 31 December 1993.

\*\*\* Term of office expires on 31 December 1994.

3. Since the terms of office of Mr. Casap, Mr. Gupta, Mr. Inomata, Mr. Muench, Ms. Mustonen and Mr. Yang will expire on 31 December 1992, it will be necessary for the General Assembly at its forty-seventh session to appoint six persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 1993.

4. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee submitted to the General Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the forty-seventh session.

\_\_\_\_

Digitized by Dag Hammarskjöld Library