

UNITED NATIONS

GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/34/854/Add.1 31 July 1980

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-fourth session Agenda item 39

IMPLEMENTATION OF THE DECLARATION OF THE INDIAN OCEAN AS A ZONE OF PEACE

Note by the Secretary-General

- Further to the appointment of 11 members of the Ad Hoc Committee on the Indian Ocean (A/34/854, para. 2), the President of the General Assembly, by a communication dated 30 July 1980, has informed the Secretary-General that, on the basis of the recommendation made by the Ad Hoc Committee at its 108th meeting, on 29 July 1980, he had appointed Maldives as an additional member of the Committee.
- As a result of the above appointment, the Ad Hoc Committee on the Indian Ocean is composed of the following 45 Member States:

Australia Bangladesh Bulgaria Canada China

Democratic Yemen

Djibouti Egypt Ethiopia France

German Democratic Republic Germany, Federal Republic of Greece

India Indonesia Iran Iraq Italy Japan Kenya Liberia

Madagascar Malaysia

Maldives Mauritius Mozambique Netherlands Norway

Oman Pakistan Panama Poland. Romania Seychelles Singapore Somalia Sri Lanka

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics United Kingdom of Great Britain

and Northern Ireland United Republic of Tanzania United States of America

Yemen Yugoslavia Zambia.