

## UNITED NATIONS

## GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/8765 10 August 1972

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Twenty-seventh session
Item 76 (4) of the provisional agenda\*

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN THE MEMBERSHIP OF SUBSIDIARY ORGANS OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

UNITED NATIONS ADMINISTRATIVE TRIBUNAL

## Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. Article 3, paragraphs 1 and 2, of the Statute of the United Nations Administrative Tribunal (General Assembly resolution 351 A (IV)) provides that:
  - "1. The Tribunal shall be composed of seven members, no two of whom may be nationals of the same State. Only three shall sit in any particular case.
  - "2. The members shall be appointed by the General Assembly for three years, and they may be re-appointed; provided, however, that of the members initially appointed, the terms of two members shall expire at the end of one year and the terms of two members shall expire at the end of two years. A member appointed to replace a member whose term of office has not expired shall hold office for the remainder of his predecessor's term."

<sup>\*</sup> A/8760.

2. The present composition of the Tribunal is as follows:

Mrs. Paul Bastid (France)\*\*
Mr. Francisco Forteza (Uruguay)\*
Mr. Vincent Mutuale (Zaire)\*\*
Mr. Francis T. P. Plimpton (United States of America)\*\*\*
Mr. Zenon Rossides (Cyprus)\*
Sir Roger Bentham Stevens (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)\*\*\*
Mr. R. Venkataraman (India)\*\*

<sup>\*</sup> Term expires on 31 December 1972.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Term expires on 31 December 1973.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup> Term expires on 31 December 1974.

<sup>3.</sup> At its twenty-fourth session, the General Assembly, by resolution 2495 A (XXIV) of 28 October 1969, appointed Mr. Forteza and Mr. Rossides for three-year terms beginning on 1 January 1970. Since the terms of office of these members of the Tribunal expire on 31 December 1972, it will be necessary for the General Assembly at its twenty-seventh session to appoint two persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of three years, beginning on 1 January 1973.

<sup>4.</sup> At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee, after a secret ballot, submitted to the General Assembly a draft resolution containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the twenty-seventh session.