

UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/8112 27 October 1970

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Twenty-fifth session Agenda item 76 (b)

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN THE MEMBERSHIP OF SUBSIDIARY BOLIES OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

COMMITTEE ON CONTRIBUTIONS

Report of the Fifth Committee

Rapporteur: Mr. Mohamed EL BARADEI (United Arab Republic)

1. At its 1370th meeting, held on 26 October 1970, the Fifth Committee considered a note by the Secretary-General (A/7932) concerning the vacancies which will occur in the membership of the Committee on Contributions as a result of the expiration of the terms of office of three of its members on 31 December 1970. 2. The members of the Fifth Committee had been invited to suggest the names of persons who might be recommended to the General Assembly for appointment to the Committee on Contributions in accordance with the provisions of rules 159 and 160 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly. Four names were put forward in respect of the above-mentioned vacancies (A/C.5/1316 and Add.1).

3. The Fifth Committee voted by secret ballot to decide on its recommendation to the General Assembly. The result of the voting was as follows:

Number of ballot papers:	98
Invalid ballots:	l
Number of valid ballots:	97
Abstentions:	1
Number of members voting:	96
Required majority:	49

/...

A/8112 English Page 2

Number of votes obtained:

Mr.	Stanislaw	Raczkowski	79
-----	-----------	------------	----

Mr. Seymour M. Finger 78

Mr. Takeshi Naito 64

One other candidate received 47 votes.

4. Mr. Raczkowski (Poland), Mr. Finger (United States of America) and Mr. Naito (Japan), having received the required majority, were declared recommended for appointment as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1971.

RECOMMENDATION OF THE FIFTH COMMITTEE

5. The Fifth Committee recommends to the General Assembly the adoption of the following draft resolution:

Appointments to fill vacancies in the membership of the Committee on Contributions

The General Assembly,

<u>Appoints</u> the following persons as members of the Committee on Contributions for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1971:

Mr. Seymour M. Finger,

Mr. Takeshi Naito,

Mr. Stanislaw Raczkowski.
