

UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/7152 26 July 1968

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

/...

Twenty-third session

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN THE MEMBERSHIP OF SUBSIDIARY BODIES OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

COMMITTEE ON CONTRIBUTIONS*

1. The rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide that

"Rule 159

"The General Assembly shall appoint an expert Committee on Contributions, consisting of ten members.

"Rule 160

"The members of the Committee on Contributions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience, and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three financial years, as defined in the regulations for the financial administration of the United Nations. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Committee on Contributions at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members, or, in case of vacancies, at the next session."

2. The present membership of the Committee is as follows:

Mr. Amjad Ali (Pakistan);

Mr. Thomas H. Bennett (Canada);

Mr. Raymond T. Bowman (United States of America);

Mr. Jorge Pablo Fernandini (Peru);

Mr. F. Nouredin Kia (Iran);

Mr. Evgeny Nikolaevich Makeev (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics);

Mr. Stanislaw Raczkowski (Poland);

Mr. John I.M. Rhodes (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland);

Mr. David Silveira da Mota (Brazil);

Mr. Maurice Viaud (France).

* Item 76 (b) of the provisional agenda. 68-16347 A/7152 English Page 2

At its twentieth session, the General Assembly, by its resolution 2014 (XX) 3. of 27 October 1965, appointed Mr. Silveira da Mota for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 1966. At its twenty-first session, the Assembly, by resolution 2140 A (XXI) of 26 October 1966, appointed Mr. Rhodes for a period ending on 31 December 1968. By resolution 2266 A (XXII) of 16 November 1967, the Assembly at its twenty-second session appointed Mr. Bennett for a period ending on 31 December 1968. Since the terms of these members of the Committee expire on 31 December 1968, it will be necessary for the General Assembly, at its twenty-third session, to appoint three persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The members so appointed will serve for a period of three years beginning on 1 January 1969. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee, after a secret ballot, submitted 4. to the General Assembly a draft resolution containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the twenty-third session.
