United Nations A/HRC/RES/34/34



Distr.: General 7 April 2017

Original: English

Human Rights Council Thirty-fourth session 27 February–24 March 2017 Agenda item 9

## Resolution adopted by the Human Rights Council on 24 March 2017

## 34/34. Mandate of the Intergovernmental Working Group on the Effective Implementation of the Durban Declaration and Programme of Action

The Human Rights Council,

*Recalling* General Assembly resolution 56/266 of 27 March 2002, in which the Assembly endorsed the Durban Declaration and Programme of Action,

*Recalling also* Commission on Human Rights resolutions 2002/68 of 25 April 2002 and 2003/30 of 23 April 2003,

Recalling further Human Rights Council resolutions 1/5 of 30 June 2006, 11/12 of 18 June 2009 and 22/30 of 22 March 2013, in which the Council renewed and extended the mandate of the Intergovernmental Working Group on the Effective Implementation of the Durban Declaration and Programme of Action,

*Encouraging* the Working Group to enhance its efforts towards the effective realization of its mandate, and to report regularly in this regard to the Human Rights Council and the General Assembly,

- 1. Decides to renew the mandate of the Intergovernmental Working Group on the Effective Implementation of the Durban Declaration and Programme of Action for a further period of three years;
- 2. Requests the Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights to make the report of the Working Group on its fourteenth session available in order to enable the Chair-Rapporteur to present it to the Human Rights Council at its thirty-fifth session;
- 3. Requests the Secretary-General and the High Commissioner to provide the Working Group with all the human, technical and financial assistance necessary for the effective implementation of its mandate;
  - 4. *Decides* to remain seized of this priority matter.

58th meeting 24 March 2017

GE.17-05686(E)





[Adopted by a recorded vote of 46 to 1, with no abstentions. The voting was as follows:

In favour:

Albania, Bangladesh, Belgium, Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Botswana, Brazil, Burundi, China, Congo, Côte d'Ivoire, Croatia, Cuba, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Ethiopia, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Hungary, India, Indonesia, Iraq, Japan, Kenya, Kyrgyzstan, Latvia, Mongolia, Netherlands, Nigeria, Panama, Paraguay, Philippines, Portugal, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Slovenia, South Africa, Switzerland, Togo, Tunisia, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of)

Against:

United States of America]