UNITED NATIONS



General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/46/191 8 August 1991

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Forty-sixth session

REQUEST FOR THE INCLUSION OF A SUPPLEMENTARY ITEM IN THE AGENDA OF THE FORTY-SIXTH SESSION

OBSERVER STATUS FOR THE CARIBBEAN COMMUNITY IN THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

Letter dated 1 August 1991 from the representatives of the Bahamas, Barbardos, Belize, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Jamaica, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad and Tobago to the United Nations addressed to the Secretary-General

We have the honour to address Your Excellency, upon instructions from our Governments which are members of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), to request, in accordance with rule 14 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly, the inclusion in the agenda of the forty-sixth session of the General Assembly of a supplementary item entitled "Observer status for the Caribbean Community in the General Assembly".

In accordance with rule 20 of the rules of procedure of the General Assembly, an explanatory memorandum concerning the request is annexed to this letter.

(<u>Signed</u>) A. Missouri SHERMAN-PETER Chargé d'affaires a.i. The Bahamas

(<u>Signed</u>) Teresa Ann MARSHALL Chargé d'affaires a.i. Barbados A/46/191 English Page 2

- (<u>Signed</u>) Carl L. B. ROGERS
 Permanent Representative
 Belize
- (<u>Signed</u>) Simon Paul RICHARDS Chargé d'affaires a.i. Dominica
- (<u>Signed</u>) Eugene PURSOO Permanent Representative Grenada
- (<u>Signed</u>) Samuel INSANALLY Permanent Representative Guyana
- (<u>Signed</u>) Maxine ROBERTS Chargé d'affaires a.i. Jamaica
- (<u>Signed</u>) Raymond TAYLOR Chargé d'affaires a.i. Saint Kitts and Nevis
- (<u>Signed</u>) Charles FLEMMING Permanent Representative Saint Lucia
- (<u>Signed</u>) James Anton POMPEY Chargé d'affaires a.i. Saint Vincent and the Granadines
- (<u>Signed</u>) Marjorie THORPE Permanent Representative Trinidad and Tubago

Annex

Explanatory memorandum

The Caribbean Community was established on 4 July 1973 by virtue of the signature of the Treaty of Chaguaramas by the Prime Ministers of Barbados, Guyana, Jamaica and Trinidad and Tobago. Its present membership comprises 12 independent Caribbean States and the British dependency of Montserrat. In addition, observer status has been granted to a number of a Caribbean regional bodies and to several non-CARICOM States in certain ministerial bodies and institutions of the Community.

The Caribbean Community has as its objectives:

- (a) The economic integration of the member States by the establishment of a common market regime in accordance with the provisions of the annex to the Treaty with the following aims:
 - (i) The strengthening of coordination and regulation of the economic and trade relations among member States in order to promote their accelerated harmonious and balanced development;
 - (ii) The sustained expansion and continuing integration of activities, the benefits of which shall be equitably shared, taking into account the need to provide special opportunities for the less developed countries;
 - (iii) The achievement of a greater measure of economic independence and effectiveness of its member States in dealing with States, groups of States and entities of whatever description;
 - (b) The coordination of the foreign policies of member States;
 - (c) Functional cooperation, including:
 - (i) The efficient operation of certain common services and activities for the benefit of its peoples;
 - (ii) The promotion of greater understanding among its peoples and the advancement of their social, cultural and technological development.

As a regional organization representing 13 members, 12 of which are also members of the United Nations, the member States of the Caribbean Community are of the view that their Community could benefit greatly from an observer relationship with the United Nations and also contribute to the activities of the Organization.

Accordingly, the Caribbean Community requests that it be granted observer status to the General Assembly on terms similar to those that have been prescribed in respect of other associations of States.