



General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/INF/46/3 26 August 1991

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Forty-sixth session

STATUS OF THE PROTOCOLS ADDITIONAL TO THE GENEVA CONVENTIONS OF 1949 AND RELATING TO THE PROTECTION OF VICTIMS OF ARMED CONFLICTS

Report of the Secretary-General

- 1. After information was circulated on the status of the Protocols Additional to the Geneva Conventions of 1949 and relating to the protection of victims of armed conflicts, as contained in the annex to the report of the Secretary-General (A/45/454), 7 more countries have ratified or acceded to the Protocols, namely, Australia, Canada, Chile, Djibouti, Germany, Paraguay and Uganda.
- 2. The list of all States that have ratified or accoded to the Protocols as at 17 July 1991 as communicated by the competent authorities of the Government of Switzerland, depositary of the Protocols, appears in the annex to the present report.

ANNEX

List of States that have ratified or acceded to the Protocols Additional to the Geneva Conventions of 1949 as at 17 July 1991 a/

State

Date of ratification or accession

7 7	16 August 1000
Algeria*	16 August 1989
Angola* (Protocol I only)	20 September 1984 6 October 1986
Antigua and Barbuda	
Argentina*	26 November 1986
Australia*	21 June 1991
Austria*	13 August 1982
Bahamas	10 April 1980
Bahrain	30 October 1986
Bangladesh	8 September 1980
Barbados	19 February 1990
Belgium*	20 May 1986
Belize	29 June 1984
Benin	28 May 1986
Bolivia	8 December 1983
Botswana	23 May 1979
Bulgaria	26 September 1989
Burkina Faso	20 October 1987
Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic*	23 October 1989
Cameroon	16 March 1984
Canada*	20 November 1990
Central African Republic	17 July 1984
Chile*	24 April 1991
China*	14 September 1983
Comoros	21 November 1985
Congo	10 November 1983
Costa Rica	15 December 1983
Côte d'Ivoire	20 September 1989
	25 November 1982
Cuba (Protocol I only)	1 June 1979
Cyprus (Protocol I only)	
Czechoslovakia	14 February 1990
Democratic People's Republic of Korea	
(Protocol I only)	9 March 1988
Denmark*	17 June 1982
Djibouti	8 April 1991
Beuador	10 April 1979
El Salvador	23 November 1978

^{*} Ratification or accession accompanied by a reservation and/or a declaration.

State

Date of ratification or accession

Equatorial Guinea	24	July 1986
Finland*	7	August 1980
France (Protocol II only)	24	February 1984
Gabon	8	April 1980
Gambia	12	January 1989
Germany*	14	February 1991
Ghana	28	February 1978
Greece (Protocol I only)	31	March 1989
Guatemala	19	October 1987
Guinea	11	July 1984
Guinea-Bissau	21	October 1986
Guyana	18	January 1988
Holy See*		November 1985
Hungary		April 1989
Iceland*		April 1987
Italy*		February 1986
Jamaica		July 1986
Jordan		May 1979
Kuwait		January 1985
Lao People's Democratic Republic		November 1980
Liberia		June 1988
Libyan Arab Jamahiriya		June 1978
Liechtenstein*		August 1989
Luxembourg		August 1989
Mali		February 1989
Malta*		April 1989
Mauritania		March 1980
Mauritius (Duchama) Tambah		March 1982
Mexico (Protocol I only)		March 1983
Mozambique (Protocol I only)		March 1983
Namibia		October 1983
Netherlands*	-	June 1987
New Zealand*		February 1988 June 1979
Niger	_	October 1988
Nigeria Names of		December 1981
Norway* Oman*		March 1984
		November 1990
Paraguay Peru		July 1989
Philippines (Protocol II only)		December 1986
Qatar* (Protocol I only)		April 1988
		January 1982
Republic of Korea* Romania		June 1990
Rwanda		November 1984
Saint Kitts and Nevis		February 1986
Saint Lucia		October 1982
Saint Vincent and the Grenadines		April 1983
Samoa		August 1984
M-M0114-4A		

State

Date of ratification or accession

Saudi Arabia (Protocol I only)* Senegal Seychelles Sierra Leone Solomon Islands Spain* Suriname Sweden* Switzerland* Syrian Arab Republic (Protocol I only)* Togo Tunisia Uganda Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic* United Arab Emirates* United Republic of Tanzania Union of Soviet Socialist Republics* Uruquay Vanuatu Viet Nam (Protocol I only) Yugoslavia* Zaire (Protocol I only)

Notes

<u>a</u>/ As communicated by the competent authorities of the Government of Switzerland, depositary of the Protocols. By a note dated 15 August 1990, the Permanent Observer Mission of Switzerland informed the Secretary-General as follows:

"On 21 June 1989, the Federal Department for Foreign Affairs received a communication of 14 June 1989 from the Permanent Observer of Palestine to the United Nations Office at Geneva concerning Palestine's participation in the four Geneva Conventions of 12 August 1949 and their two Additional Protocols of 8 June 1977. On 18 September 1989, the Federal Department for Foreign Affairs sent to the States parties to the Conventions an information note of 13 September 1989 regarding this communication, accompanied by the text of the latter. In the information note, the Swiss Federal Council, depositary of the Conventions, brings to the attention of the States parties that it is not in a position to settle the question whether the communication should be considered an instrument of accession within the meaning of the relevant provisions of the Conventions and their Additional Protocols."

