

UNITED NATIONS

GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/33/557 26 January 1979

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-third session Agenda item 120

DRAFTING OF AN INTERNATIONAL CONVENTION AGAINST THE TAKING OF HOSTAGES

Appointment of a member of the Ad Hoc Committee on the Drafting of an International Convention against the Taking of Hostages

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. In paragraph 1 of resolution 31/103 of 15 December 1976, the General Assembly decided to establish an Ad Hoc Committee on the Drafting of an International Convention against the Taking of Hostages, composed of 35 Member States. In paragraph 2 of the resolution, the General Assembly requested the President of the Assembly, after consultations with the chairmen of the regional groups, to appoint the members of the Ad Hoc Committee on the basis of equitable geographical distribution and of representation of the principal legal systems of the world.
- 2. By communications dated 28 June and 9 August 1977 (see A/31/479 and Add.1), the President of the thirty-first session of the General Assembly informed the Secretary-General that he had appointed 34 of the 35 members of the Ad Hoc Committee on the understanding that the remaining member would be appointed as soon as a candidate was nominated by the Eastern European Group.
- 3. By a communication dated 26 January 1979, the President of the thirty-third session has informed the Secretary-General that, on the basis of a nomination by the Eastern European Group, he had appointed Bulgaria as a member of the Ad Hoc Committee.

79-02659

/...

4. As a result, the Ad Hoc Committee is now composed of the following 35 Member States:

Algeria

Barbados

Bulgaria

Byelorussian Soviet Socialist

Republic

Canada

Chile

Democratic Yemen

Denmark

Egypt

France

Germany, Federal Republic of

Guinea

Iran

Italy

Japan

Jordan

Kenya

Lesotho

Libyan Arab Jamahiriya

Mexico

Netherlands

Nicaragua

Nigeria

Philippines

Poland

Somalia

Suriname

Sweden

Syrian Arab Republic

Union of Soviet Socialist Republics

United Kingdom of Great Britain and

Northern Ireland

United Republic of Tanzania

United States of America

Venezuela

Yugoslavia