

## UNITED NATIONS GENERAL



Distr. GENERAL

A/34/853 10 April 1980

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-fourth session Agenda item 53

ASSEMBLY.

## QUESTIONS RELATING TO INFORMATION

## Appointment of members of the Committee on Information

## Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. In section I, paragraph 1, of resolution 34/182 of 18 December 1979, the General Assembly decided to maintain the Committee to Review United Nations Public Information Policies and Activities, which would be known as the Committee on Information and whose membership would be increased from 41 to 66, the additional 25 members to be appointed on the basis of equitable geographical distribution by the President of the General Assembly, after consultation with the regional groups.
- 2. In this connexion, the Secretary-General has received the following communication, dated 10 April 1980, from the President of the General Assembly:

"I have the honour to inform you that, pursuant to General Assembly resolution 34/182, I have held extensive consultations with the chairmen of the regional groups with a view to appointing the 25 additional members of the Committee on Information.

"Following those consultations, I have appointed the following States as members of the Committee: Algeria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Brazil, Bulgaria, Burundi, Costa Rica, Cuba, Denmark, Ghana, Guyana, Indonesia, Kenya, Mongolia, Morocco, Netherlands, Pakistan, Poland, Portugal, Singapore, Sudan, United Republic of Tanzania, Venezuela, Viet Nam and Zaire.

"In the course of the above-mentioned consultations, it was agreed by all the groups to recommend that the General Assembly at its thirty-fifth session should authorize the appointment of an additional member of the Committee from the Group of Western European and other States on the clear understanding that this agreement would in no way constitute a precedent with regard to interpretations of the principle of equitable geographical distribution.

(Signed) Salim A. SALIM
President of the General Assembly

3. As a result of the above appointments, the Committee on Information is composed of the following Member States:

Algeria Argentina Bangladesh Belgium Benin Brazil Bulgaria Burundi Chile Colombia Congo Costa Rica Cuba Cyprus Denmark Ecuador Egypt El Salvador Ethiopia Finland France German Democratic Republic Germany, Federal Republic of Ghana Guatemala Guinea Guyana India

Indonesia

Ivory Coast

Italy

Japan

Kenya

Jordan

Lebanon Mongolia Morocco Netherlands Niger Nigeria Pakistan Peru Philippines Poland Portugal Romania Singapore Somalia Spain Sri Lanka Sudan Syrian Arab Republic Trinidad and Tobago Tunisia Turkey Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic Union of Soviet Socialist Republics United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland

United Republic of Tanzania

United States of America

Venezuela

Yugoslavia

Viet Nam

Yemen

Zaire