



General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/46/279 9 July 1991

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Forty-sixth session Item 17 (e) of the preliminary list*

ELECTIONS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS

Election of seven members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination

Note by the Secretary-General

1. In accordance with Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) of 14 May 1976 and General Assembly decision 42/450 of 17 December 1987, the members of the Committee for Programme and Coordination are nominated by the Economic and Social Council and elected by the General Assembly for a term of three years.

2. The membership of the Committee in 1991 is as follows (see General Assembly decision 45/310):

Algeria,** Argentina,** Bahamas,* Benin,* Brazil,*** Bulgaria,*** Burundi,*** Cameroon,** Chile,*** China,** Colombia,*** Congo,*** France,* Germany,*** India,*** Indonesia,*** Iraq,*** Italy,*** Japan,** Morocco,** Netherlands,*** Nigeria,*** Norway,*** Pakistan,*** Poland,*** Sri Lanka,** Trinidad and Tobago,*** Uganda,*** Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic,*** Union of Soviet Socialist Republics,* United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland,*** United States of America,* Venezuela* and Zambia.*

* Term of office expires on 31 December 1991.
** Term of office expires on 31 December 1992.
*** Term of office expires on 31 December 1993.

* λ/46/50.

91-22342 2372c (E)

A/46/279 English Page 2

3. The General Assembly, at its forty-sixth session, will, therefore, be called upon to elect seven members, on the nomination of the Economic and Social Council, to fill the vacancies in the Committee that will occur as a result of the expiration of the terms of office of Bahamas, Benin, France, Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, United States of America, Venezuela and Zambia. In accordance with General Assembly decision 42/450, the vacancies are to be filled as follows:

- (a) Two members from African States;
- (b) One member from Eastern European States;
- (c) Two members from Latin American and Caribbean States;
- (d) Two members from Western European and other States.

4. By its decision 1991/224 of 30 and 31 May 1991, the Economic and Social Council nominated the following Member States for election by the General Assembly at its forty-sixth session, for a term of three years, beginning on 1 January 1992:

(a) African States (2 vacancies): Ghana and Zambia;

(b) Eastern European States (1 vacancy): Union of Soviet Socialist Republics;

(c) Latin American and Caribbean States (2 vacancies): Bahamas, Nicaragua and Uruguay;

(d) Western European and other States (2 vacancies): France and United States of America.
