



General Assembly

Distr. GENERAL

A/40/1048 17 December 1985

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Fortieth session Agenda item 17 (f)

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

Appointment of members of the International Civil Service Commission

Report of the Fifth Committee

Rapporteur: Mr. Falk MELTKE (German Democratic Republic)

I. INTRODUCTION

1. At its 67th meeting, on 16 December 1985, the Fifth Committee considered a note by the Secretary-General (A/40/106) concerning the vacancies in the membership of the International Civil Service Commission that will occur as a result of the expiration, on 31 December 1985, of the term of office of five of its members on 31 December 1985.

2. The Fifth Committee also considered notes by the Secretary-General (A/40/106/Add.1 and Add.2) advising the General Assembly of the resignation of three members of the Commission, requiring the appointment by the Assembly, at its current session, of three persons to fill the unexpired portions of the terms of office of the members who had resigned, i.e. until 31 December 1986.

3. The Fifth Committee also had before it a note by the Secretary-General (A/C.5/40/70) containing the names of persons nominated by their respective Governments for appointment to the International Civil Service Commission, which included one person for the vacancy to be filled by a candidate from the Asian group of States, one person for the vacancy to be filled by a candidate from the Latin American group and four persons for the three vacancies to be filled by candidates from the group of Western European and other States, as well as the names of persons nominated by their respective Governments for appointment to the Commission for the unexpired portions of the terms of members who had resigned. The note by the Secretary-General further indicated the names that the

A/40/1048 English Page 2

Secretary-General, in his capacity as Chairman of the Administrative Committee on Co-ordination, suggested that the Fifth Commmittee recommend for appointment.

4. The comments and observations made in the course of the Committee's consideration of this item are reflected in the relevant summary record (A/C.5/40/SR.67).

II. DECISIONS OF THE FIFTH COMMITTEE

5. The Committee decided, without objection, that the nominees from the group of Western European and other States should be determined by elections.

6. The Committee decided, by acclamation, to recommend to the General Assembly the appointment of Mr. Genichi Akatani (Japan) and Mr. Antônio Fonseca Pimentel (Brazil) as members of the International Civil Service Commission for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1985.

7. The Committee decided, by acclamation, to recommend to the General Assembly the appointment of Mrs. Turkia Daddah (Mauritania), Mr. Karel Houska (Czechoslovakia) and Mr. André Xavier Pirson (Belgium) as members of the International Civil Service Commission for a one-year term beginning on 1 January 1986.

8. The Committee then proceeded to elect by secret ballot three nominees from among the four candidates submitted by Member States of the group of Western European and other States. The result of the voting was as follows:

Number of ballot papers:	134
Invalid ballots:	2
Number of valid ballots:	132
Abstentions:	0
Number of members voting:	132
Required majority:	67

Number of votes obtained:

Mr. Alexis Stephanou	97
Mrs. Claudia Cooley	94
Mr. Michel Auchère	88
Mr. Helmut Kitschenberg	83

A/40/1048 English Page 3

9. Mr. Alexis Stephanou (Greece), Mrs. Claudia Cooley (United States of America) and Mr. Michel Auchère (France), having received the highest number of votes, were declared recommended for appointment as members of the International Civil Service Commission for a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1986.

III. RECOMMENDATION OF THE FIFTH COMMITTEE

10. The Fifth Committee recommends that the General Assembly should appoint the following persons as members of the International Civil Service Commission:

(a) For a one-year term beginning on 1 January 1986:

Mrs. Turkia Daddah

Mr. Karel Houska

Mr. André Xavier Pirson

(b) For a four-year term beginning on 1 January 1986:

Mr. Genichi Akatani

Mr. Michel Auchère

Mrs. Claudia Cooley

Mr. Antônio Fonseca Pimentel

Mr. Alexis Stephanou