Resolution 458 (1979)

of 14 December 1979

The Security Council,

Taking note of the report of the Secretary-General on the United Nations operation in Cyprus of 1 December 1979.83

Noting the concurrence of the parties concerned in the recommendation by the Secretary-General that the Security Council should extend the stationing of the United Nations Peace-keeping Force in Cyprus for a further period of six months,

Noting also that the Government of Cyprus has agreed that in view of the prevailing conditions in the island it is necessary to keep the Force in Cyprus beyond 15 December 1979,

Reaffirming the provisions of its resolution 186 (1964) of 4 March 1964 and other relevant resolutions,

Reiterating its support of the ten-point agreement for the resumption of the intercommunal talks which was worked out at the high-level meeting on 18 and 19 May 1979 at Nicosia, under the auspices of the Secretary-General, 80

- 1. Extends once more the stationing in Cyprus of the United Nations Peace-keeping Force established under resolution 186 (1964) for a further period, ending on 15 June 1980;
- 2. Urges the parties to resume the intercommunal talks within the framework of the ten-point agreement in a continuing, sustained and result-oriented manner, avoiding any delay;
- 3. Requests the Secretary-General to continue his mission of good offices, to keep the Security Council informed of the progress made and to submit a report on the implementation of the present resolution by 31 May 1980.

Adopted at the 2179th meeting by 14 votes to none.84

LETTERS DATED 13 JUNE 1979 AND 15 JUNE 1979 FROM THE PERMANENT REPRESENTATIVE OF MOROCCO TO THE UNITED NATIONS ADDRESSED TO THE PRESIDENT OF THE SECURITY COUNCIL

Decisions

At its 2151st meeting, on 20 June 1979, the Council decided to invite the representatives of Algeria, Benin, Madagascar and Morocco to participate, without vote, in the discussion of the item entitled "Letters dated 13 June 1979 and 15 June 1979 from the Permanent Representative of Morocco to the United Nations addressed to the President of the Security Council (S/13394⁸⁵ and S/13397)".85

At the same meeting, the Council also decided, at the request of the representatives of Afghanistan, Algeria, Benin, Burundi, the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Ethiopia, Guyana, Madagascar, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe and the United Republic of Tanzania, 86 to extend an invitation to Mr. Madjid Abdallah under rule 39 of the provisional rules of procedure.

At its 2152nd meeting, on 21 June 1979, the Council decided to invite the representatives of Mauritania and Zaire to participate, without vote, in the discussion of the question.

At its 2153rd meeting, on 22 June 1979, the Council decided to invite the representatives of the Congo and Democratic Yemen to participate, without vote, in the discussion of the question.

At its 2154th meeting, on 25 June 1979, the Council decided to invite the representatives of Angola, Burundi, the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Sao Tome and Principe and Senegal to participate, without vote, in the discussion of the question.

⁸³ Ibid., document S/13672.

⁸⁴ One member (China) did not participate in the voting.

⁸⁵ See Official Records of the Security Council, Thirty-fourth Year, Supplement for April, May and June 1979.

⁸⁶ Ibid., document S/13406.