UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/6382 5 August 1966

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Twenty-first session

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN THE MEMBERSHIP OF SUBSIDIARY BODIES OF THE GENERAL ASSEMBLY

COMMITTEE ON CONTRIBUTIONS*

1. The rules of procedure of the General Assembly provide that

"Rule 159

"The General Assembly shall appoint an expert Committee on Contributions, consisting of ten members.

"Rule 160

"The members of the Committee on Contributions, no two of whom shall be nationals of the same State, shall be selected on the basis of broad geographical representation, personal qualifications and experience, and shall serve for a period of three years corresponding to three financial years, as defined in the regulations for the financial administration of the United Nations. Members shall retire by rotation and shall be eligible for reappointment. The General Assembly shall appoint the members of the Committee on Contributions at the regular session immediately preceding the expiration of the term of office of the members, or, in case of vacancies, at the next session."

2. The present membership of the Committee is as follows:

Mr. Raymond T. Bowman (United States of America);

Mr. Jorge Pablo Fernandini (Peru);

Mr. James Gibson (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland);

Mr. Louis-Denis Hudon (Canada);

Mr. F. Nouredin Kia (Iran);

* Item 77 (b) of the provisional agenda.

Mr. Gapalaswami Parthasarathi (India);

Mr. Stanislaw Raczkowski (Poland);

Mr. David Silveira da Mota (Brazil);

Mr. V.G. Solodovnikov (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics)

Mr. Maurice Viaud (France).

3. At its eighteenth session, the General Assembly, by its resolution

1892 (XVIII) of 6 November 1963, appointed Mr. Fernandini, Mr. Solodovinkov and Mr. Viaud for three-year terms beginning 1 January 1964. At its twentieth session, the General Assembly, by its resolution 2014 B (XX) of 21 December 1965, appointed Mr. Parthasarathi for a term beginning on the date of the resolution and ending on 31 December 1966. Since the terms of these members of the Committee expire on 31 December 1966, it will be necessary for the General Assembly, at its twenty-first session, to appoint four persons to fill the resulting vacancies. The members so appointed will serve for a period of three years beginning on 1 January 1967.

4. At previous sessions, the Fifth Committee, after a secret ballot, submitted to the General Assembly a draft resolution containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment. It is suggested that a similar procedure be followed at the twenty-first session.
