United Nations E/2015/9/Add.6



Economic and Social Council

Distr.: General 26 January 2015

Original: English

2015 session

21 July 2014-22 July 2015 Agenda item 4

Elections, nominations, confirmations and appointments

Election of 14 members of the Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/United Nations Office for Project Services

Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. The Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/United Nations Office for Project Services has 36 members, elected with due regard to equitable geographical representation and other relevant factors, with a view to ensuring the most effective and broadest representation.
- 2. Under the terms of General Assembly resolution 48/162, the Economic and Social Council is to elect 14 members of the Executive Board from among States Members of the United Nations or members of the specialized agencies or of the International Atomic Energy Agency, for a three-year term beginning on 1 January 2016, to fill the vacancies that will occur on 31 December 2015 upon the expiration of the terms of the following members: Angola, Bulgaria, Congo, Ethiopia, Fiji, Germany, Guatemala, Iceland, Iran (Islamic Republic of), Japan, Lesotho, Niger, Pakistan and Spain.
- 3. The election will be held at the coordination and management meetings of the Council, from 8 to 10 April 2015.
- 4. The members are to be elected according to the following pattern:
 - (a) Five members from African States;
 - (b) Three members from Asia-Pacific States;
 - (c) One member from Eastern European States;
 - (d) One member from Latin American and Caribbean States;
 - (e) Four members from Western European and other States.
- 5. The membership of the Executive Board in 2015 is listed in the annex to the present note.





Annex

Executive Board of the United Nations Development Programme/United Nations Population Fund/United Nations Office for Project Services

(36 members; three-year term)

Membership in 2015

Eight members from African States

Angola* (2015), Congo* (2015), Ethiopia* (2015), Guinea (2017), Lesotho* (2015), Libya (2017), Niger* (2015), United Republic of Tanzania (2016)

Seven members from Asia-Pacific States

China (2016), Fiji* (2015), India (2017), Iran (Islamic Republic of)* (2015), Nepal (2016), Pakistan* (2015), Yemen (2017)

Four members from Eastern European States

Armenia (2016), Bulgaria* (2015), Montenegro (2016), Russian Federation (2017)

Five members from Latin American and Caribbean States

Antigua and Barbuda (2017), Cuba (2016), Ecuador (2016), Guatemala* (2015), Venezuela (Bolivarian Republic of) (2017)

Twelve members from Western European and other States

Australia (2017), Denmark (2017), Germany* (2015), Iceland*^a (2015), Italy^b (2016), Japan*^c (2015), Netherlands (2016), Norway (2016), Spain*^d (2015), Sweden (2017), United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland (2017), United States of America (2016)

* Retiring member.

2/2 15-00947

^a Replaced France as from 1 January 2015.

^b Replaced Ireland as from 1 January 2015.

 $^{^{\}rm c}$ Replaced Switzerland as from 1 January 2015.

^d Replaced Finland as from 1 January 2015.