

## UNITED NATIONS

## GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr.
GENERAL

A/35/256 22 May 1980

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-fifth session
Item 16 (d) of the preliminary list\*

ELECTION OF SEVEN MEMBERS OF THE COMMITTEE FOR PROGRAMME AND CO-ORDINATION

## Note by the Secretary-General

- 1. In accordance with paragraph 7 of the terms of reference of the Committee for Programme and Co-ordination (Economic and Social Council resolution 2008 (LX) of 14 May 1976, annex), the members of the Committee are nominated by the Economic and Social Council and elected by the General Assembly for a term of three years.
- 2. The membership of the Committee in 1980 is as follows:

Argentina, \*\*\* Belgium, \*\* Brazil, \*\* Burundi, \*\* Costa Rica, \*\*\* France, \*\*\* Ghana, \*\* India, \*\* Indonesia, \*\* Japan, \*\* Kenya, \*\* Norway, \*\*\* Pakistan, \*\*\* Romania, \*\*\* Sudan, \*\*\* Trinidad and Tobago, \*\*\* Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, \*\*\*\* United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, \*\*\* United Republic of Tanzania, \*\*\*\* United States of America \*\*\* and Yugoslavia. \*\*\*

<sup>\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 1980.

<sup>\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 1981.

<sup>\*\*\*</sup> Term of office expires on 31 December 1982.

<sup>3.</sup> The General Assembly, at its thirty-fifth session, will therefore be called upon to elect seven members, on the nomination of the Economic and Social Council, to fill the vacancies in the Committee for Programme and Co-ordination which will occur as a result of the expiration of the terms of office of Brazil, Burundi, Ghana, India, Indonesia, Japan and Kenya. In accordance with paragraph 7 of the terms of reference of the Committee, the vacancies are to be filled as follows:

<sup>\*</sup> A/35/50.

A/35/256 English Page 2

Three members from African States;
Three members from Asian States;
One member from Latin American States.

4. By its decision 1980/121 of 1 May 1980, the Economic and Social Council nominated the following seven Member States for election by the General Assembly at its thirty-fifth session, for a term of three years, beginning on 1 January 1981: Brazil, India, Japan, Morocco, Philippines, Senegal and United Republic of Cameroon.