

1...

UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/35/216 + Kas.) 13 May 1980

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-fifth session Item 17 (f) of the preliminary list*

APPOINTMENTS TO FILL VACANCIES IN SUBSIDIARY ORGANS AND OTHER APPOINTMENTS

International Civil Service Commission

Note by the Secretary-General

1. The International Civil Service Commission, established by the General Assembly in 1974 (resolution 3357 (XXIX)) for the regulation and co-ordination of the conditions of service of the United Nations common system, consists of 15 members appointed by the Assembly, of whom 2, designated Chairman and Vice-Chairman, serve full-time. In accordance with article 5, paragraph 1, of the statute of the Commission, the members of the Commission are appointed by the Assembly for a term of four years and may be reappointed.

2. The present membership of the Commission is as follows:

Mr. Richard M. Akwei (Ghana)*** Mr. Amjad Ali (Pakistan)* Mr. Michael O. Ani (Nigeria)* Mr. Anatoly Semënovich Chistyakov (Union of Soviet Socialist Republics)* Mr. Gastón de Prat Gay (Argentina) Mr. Maulaye El Hassen (Mauritania)*** Mr. Pascal Frochaux (Switzerland)*** Mr. Jean de la Grandville (France)** Mr. P. N. Haksar (India)* Mr. A. H. M. Hillis (United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland)** Mr. Akira Matsui (Japan)** Mr. Jiří Nosek (Czechoslovakia)*** Mr. Antonio Fonseca Pimentel (Brazil)** Mrs. Ersa H. Poston (United States of America)** Mrs. Halima Warzazi (Morocco)* * Term of office expires on 31 December 1980. ** Term of office expires on 31 December 1981. *** Term of office expires on 31 December 1982.

* A/35/50.

80-12063

3. Following the resignation of Mr. Raúl A. Quijano (Argentina) as a member and Chairman of the Commission, the General Assembly, at its thirty-fourth session, deferred to its thirty-fifth session the designation of the Chairman of the Commission; appointed Mr. Gastón de Prat Gay (Argentina) to serve as a member of the Commission until a Chairman was designated at the thirty-fifth session; and decided that Mr. de Prat Gay should serve, on an exceptional basis, full-time as Acting Vice-Chairman (decision 34/325). Mr. Richard M. Akwei (Ghana), who was designated Vice-Chairman at the thirty-third session (decision 33/319), is Acting Chairman of the Commission.

4. In addition, the terms of office of Mr. Ali, Mr. Ani, Mr. Chistyakov, Mr. Haksar and Mrs. Warzazi will expire on 31 December 1980. It will therefore be necessary for the General Assembly at its thirty-fifth session to appoint six persons to fill these vacancies and the vacancy resulting from the resignation of Mr. Quijano. The persons so appointed will serve for a period of four years, beginning on 1 January 1981.

5. In accordance with article 4 of the statute of the Commission, the Secretary-General, in his capacity as Chairman of the Administrative Committee on Co-ordination, shall, after appropriate consultations with Member States, with the executive heads of the other organizations and with staff representatives, submit to the General Assembly a list of the names of candidates to replace members whose terms of office are due to expire. It is suggested that the Fifth Committee, after consideration of the list compiled by the Secretary-General, submit to the Assembly a draft decision containing the names of the persons recommended for appointment.

6. The General Assembly will also be required to designate from among the 15 members so appointed a Chairman and a Vice-Chairman of the Commission.