

UNITED NATIONS GENERAL ASSEMBLY



Distr. GENERAL

A/33/560: 5 February 1979

ORIGINAL: ENGLISH

Thirty-third session Agenda item 27

QUESTION OF NAMIBIA

Appointment of members of the United Nations Council for Namibia

Note by the Secretary-General

1. In paragraph 27 of resolution 33/182 A of 21 December 1978, the General Assembly decided to expand the United Nations Council for Namibia by the addition of up to six members on the basis of consultations by the President of the General Assembly with the regional groups.

2. By a communication dated 5 February 1979, the President of the General Assembly informed the Secretary-General that he had appointed Angola, Bulgaria, Cyprus, the United Republic of Cameroon and Venezuela as members of the United Nations Council for Namibia and that he would appoint the remaining member as soon as a candidate was nominated by the Group of Western European and other States.

3. As a result, the United Nations Council for Namibia is now composed of the following 30 Member States:

Algeria	India
Angola	Indonesia
Australia	Liberia
Bangladesh	Mexico
Botswana	Nigeria
Bulgaria	Pakistan
Burundi	Poland
Chile	Romania
China	Senegal
Colombia	Turkey
Cyprus	Union of Soviet Socialist Republics
Egypt	United Republic of Cameroon
Finland	Venezuela
Guyana	Yugoslavia
Haiti	Zambia
Haiti	Zambia

_ _ _ ~ ~